Table of Contents

  • Permission definitions
  • Admin permission set
  • How to create a new permission set
  • How to edit or delete a permission set

Watch a video

Permission definitions

At Settings > Defaults > Permission sets, you can edit or create permission sets. Below are explanations of how each permission expands / limits access to the control panel. When a bold permission is set to no (or none), the permissions within that section cannot be accessed by that permission set. 

People: Everyone

The ability to see and interact with every profile in the People section.

People: Assigned

The ability to see and interact only with profiles assigned to you in the People section. 

If the control panel user’s access to the People section is limited to profiles assigned to them, path movement will change to which profiles the control panel user sees. Here is how assignments work for users with limited visibility of the People section:

  • Control panel user is assigned to a path step. They are responsible for ensuring the step is completed. If a control panel user is only assigned to a single step, once the step is completed, the control panel user loses access to the profile.
  • Control panel user is assigned to a path. They are responsible for ensuring the path is completed. Once the path ends, the control panel user loses access to the profile.
  • Control panel user is assigned as the profile’s point person. They are responsible for the overall relationship with that person / organization. Path movement does not affect a point person’s access to a profile.

Control panel users with the People: Assigned permission still have access to all of the functionality under People > More.

People: None

The People section is not displayed when the user opens the control panel.

Website: The ability to see and interact with the Website section.

Communications: The ability to see and interact with the Communications section.

Finances: The ability to see and interact with the Finances section.

If you want a user to export financial data, both the "Finances" and "Export" (under "People") permissions must be enabled. We require you to turn on the "Export" permission as an export of financial transactions includes a large amount of personal data.

Settings: The ability to see and interact with the Settings section.

API: The ability to see and interact with Settings > Apps and Settings > Developer. This includes the ability to develop applications, access test tokens, view and interact with webhooks, install and uninstall apps. A permission set that does not have access to the Settings section will not be able to use the functionality of this permission.

Admin permission set

The admin permission set is fixed and cannot be edited. A nation admin has unrestricted access to every aspect of the nation. Any limitations placed on visibility do not apply to admins. In addition to all of the permissions listed above, an admin has the following abilities:

  1. Remove people from the database.
  2. View broadcasters and lists with limited visibility.
  3. Add a custom domain.
  4. Share a website.
  5. Share a theme.
  6. Reset a control panel user's password.
  7. Download a snapshot.

How to create a new permission set

New nations are created with two permission sets: admin and staffer. The nation owner is given admin permission.

The staffer permission set is created without access to the Settings section of the nation. It also cannot manage control panel users. You can edit the staffer permission set by toggling the options displayed at Settings > Defaults > Permission sets. Changes made on this page take affect immediately.

Nations using the Leader package can only edit the Staffer permission set. All other nations can create up to five custom permission sets.

To create a new custom permission set:

Go to Settings > Defaults > Permission sets > New permission set.

1. Name the permission set.

2. Click the Create permission set button.

The permission set will be created and you will be taken to the edit page. You can also check/uncheck boxes to customize particular permissions. If you select "None" for people, all people-related permissions will be set to "No." 

How to edit or delete a permission set

To edit an existing permission set, hover over and click Edit next to the name of the one you want to edit.

Once you're redirected to the permission set page, you can edit the name of the permission set in the "Name" field. You can also check/uncheck boxes to customize particular permissions. If you select "None" for people, all people-related permissions will be set to "No." 

A permission set that is not in use can be deleted by clicking the Delete permission set button at the bottom right of the edit page. To delete a permission set currently in use, you must first remove control panel access from people with that permission set. You could also choose to give those users a different permission set. Once no profiles are connected to the permission set, it can be deleted.

Related HOWTOs

Introduction to the control panel
How to manage control panel users
How to keep track of relationships 

Did this answer your question?